The Department of Library and Information Science, Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Central Library, Banaras Hindu University and the Main Library IIT (BHU) are jointly organizing the IASLIC 31st All India Conference-2017 on November 7-9, 2017. The IASLIC is s a non-profit organization having based in India that supports development in the entire field of special librarianship in India. At present more than 2000 active library professionals, faculty, and information scientists are the life member of this organization.

Banaras Hindu University

       The Banaras Hindu University (BHU), founded by Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviyaji in 1916, is one of the most prestigious Central University in the country. The Banaras Hindu University is the largest residential University in Asia served by visionaries- Mahamana Malaviyaji, Dr. Annie Besant and Dr. S. Radhakrishnan. This seat of learning epitomizes a synthesis of ancient wisdom and modern scientific temper. The holistic model of education, conceived and enriched by its illustrious founder, offers refreshingly new perspectives to young minds and nurtures and facilitates their creative talent.

       This University was conceived as a residential University, keeping in view its objective of complete character development and thorough mentoring of students. Perhaps this is the only University in the world where courses ranging from nursery and primary school upto Doctoral/ Post-doctoral degrees are taught and pursued within a walled campus spread over 550 Hectares (1360 acres) with majestic buildings of great architectural delight.

       In addition, the Rajiv Gandhi South Campus has been established in the year 2006 in a sprawling campus of 1092.6 Hectares (2700 acres) located about 75 kms away from the main campus, at Barkachha in Mirzapur district, Uttar Pradesh.

Department of Library and Information Science

        The Department of Library and Information Science at Banaras Hindu University which is the second oldest school in the country is one of the pioneer Department in the field of Library and Information Science education in India. The Department was established in 1941. The Department has been served by a number of eminent scholars namely Dr. S. R. Ranganathan, Professor P. N. Kaula, C. G. Vishwanathan, J. S. Sharma, Professor B. Guha, Professor J. B. Subrahmaniam, Professor Y. P. Dubey and Professor S. N. Singh etc. The Department conducts 2-years integrated Master of Library & Information Science (M.L.I.S.) Programme. Apart from M.L.I.S. Course, Department conducts Research Programme for the award of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree. Department has recently started a special course of study (self finance) Post Graduate Diploma in Manuscriptology (PGDM) which aims to provide education and training of handling Manuscripts - its storage, preservation, conservation, study and use. Besides , 2 years MA (Manuscriptology and Paleography ) was also launched by the Department in the year 2010. A new feather was added to the achievement of the Department when 1 year Apprenticeship course in Library & Information Science was launched by the Department in the year 2008 to provide practical knowledge and working experience of libraries to  the students of LIS with a stipend of Rs 5000/- per student per month.

        The Department initiated Diploma Course in Librarianship, second of its kind in India after Madras University in 1942. In 1961, Diploma course was converted to Bachelor Degree Course with necessary modifications in course content. The course has been discontinued from 2005 onward. Department introduced One year Master of Library and Information Science (M.L.I.S.) Programme in the 1965 second after University of Delhi in order to train specialist librarians for specialized libraries. From 2005 onwards Department has introduced Two years integrated Master of Library and Information Science (M.L.I.S.) programme as per guidelines of Curriculum Development Committee (CDC) of the University Grant Commission (UGC). Ph.D. course was initiated in the Department in 1980. In all, 45 Doctoral dissertations submitted in the Department have been awarded the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.).

Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Central Library

       The Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Central Library, Banaras Hindu University  iis one of the largest University Library in the country, germinated from a small but precious collection donated by Prof. P.K. Telang in the memory of his father Justice K.T. Telang in 1917 and housed in the Telang Hall of the Central Hindu College, Kamachha. It was nurtured in its infancy by the renowned historian Sir Jadunath Sarkar. With the University taking shape at its present premises, the library was also shifted in 1921 to the Central Hall of the Arts College (now Faculty of Arts) and then in 1941 to its present majestic building built with the generous donation from Maharaja Sayajirao Gaekwad of Baroda. The structure of the Main Hall of the library building is the replica of the British Museum Library, London. Its majestic circular Central Hall has been furnished with elegant furniture's made of famous and rare variety of Burma Teak woods.

       Beginning with a small but precious donated collection, its grew by leaps and bounds with magnificent donations of personal and family collections from many eminent personalities and families like Lala Sri Ram of Delhi, Jamnalal Bajaj of Wardha, Roormal Goenka, Batuk Nath Sharma, Tagore Family collection, Nehru Family collection, etc. amongst a score of others and purchase of books and journals out of the regular fund with the result that it has a collection of around 60,000 volumes in 1931 itself. The trend of donation of personal and family collection to the library continues even today with the result that it has unique collection of rare books and journals dating back to 18th century. Presently, the Central Library has a book collection exceeding 15 lakhs and considerable number of online resources. It has a Cyber Library with 400 terminals to provide access to online resources.

Main Library, Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University)

       TThe IIT (BHU) Varanasi owes its existence to the far-sighted vision and relentless efforts of Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviyaji, the founder of Banaras Hindu University. Three engineering and technological institutions were established by Malaviyaji, viz. the Banaras Engineering College (BENCO) in 1919, the College of Mining and Metallurgy (MINMET) in 1923 and the College of Technology (TECHNO) in 1932, as the constituent units of BHU which merged to form Institute of Technology (IT-BHU) in 1968 and finally converted into IIT (BHU) in 2012. The Main Library and six departmental libraries of the Institute have more than 1,25,000 printed books, access to more than 15,000 e-journals, 60,000 e-books and many databases and standards.


Copyright 2017 Department of Library and Information Science, BHU
Designed and Developed by Web Management Team, IASLIC-2017

Best viewed with Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox